nancy's book blog

Reading is dreaming with open eyes

My Guilty Summer Pleasure… A review of Mini-Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

on June 12, 2012

Like most other peeps, I have a guilty Summer pleasure.  For some it’s ice cream cones, for others it might be skinny dipping.  For me, it’s chic-lit.  Specifically British chic-lit.  My ULTIMATE guilty pleasure is a Sophie Kinsella novel.  My absolute favorite chic-lit!  If Kinsella has a new book out, I will buy it and keep it on my shelf until Summer so I can indulge outside on my hammock which is my favorite Summer reading spot.  This Summer was no exception.  I picked up the paperback version of Mini-Shopaholic (which is Book 6 in the Shopaholic series for those of you playing at home) back in April just waiting for the perfect lazy weekend.  This Summer, I get TWO Kinsella novels to read because her stand alone book I’ve Got Your Number which came out in February is on it’s way to my house right now.

FROM AMAZON.COM:

Becky Brandon thinks that having a daughter is a dream come true: a shopping friend for life! But two-year-old Minnie has a quite different approach to shopping. The toddler creates havoc everywhere she goes, from Harrods to her own christening. Her favorite word is “Mine!” and she’s even trying to get into eBay! On top of everything else, Becky and Luke are still living with her parents (the deal on house #4 has fallen through), when suddenly there’s a huge nationwide financial crisis.

With people having to cut back, Becky decides to throw a surprise party for Luke to cheer everyone up. But when costs start to spiral out of control, she must decide whether to accept help from an unexpected source—and therefore run the risk of hurting the person she loves.

Will Becky be able to pull off the celebration of the year? Will she and Luke ever find a home of their own? Will Minnie ever learn to behave? And . . . most important . . . will Becky’s secret wishes ever come true?

MY THOUGHTS:

I’ve read all the other Shopaholic books and this one did not disappoint.  Yes, it’s chic-lit and yes, there is a formula but it works.  Becky Brandon nee Bloomwood is one of my favorite characters.  I have even jokingly said to myself in the past while shopping “What would Becky do?”

Kinsella writes great characters.  It was fun to catch up with Becky, Luke, and Suze.  Even Jess and Danny both had a fair amount of scenes.

Becky hasn’t changed one bit and now she has a partner in crime: Two year old Minnie who gives her a real run for her money.  As usual there were a few Lucy Ricardo-esque shenanigans going on including an attempt at online bartering at the suggestion of her eco-friendly sister Jess.  She also invents a unique sales pitch that stealthily boosts the sales of her personal shopping department at The Look that has a few snags.

There was an unresolved secret and the ending leaves an opening in the series for another book.

All in all, a good solid fun beachy read.

Four cupcakes for me!

Are you fans of chic-lit?  Do you have any guilty pleasures?  Post a comment below and let me know.

3 responses to “My Guilty Summer Pleasure… A review of Mini-Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Bena says:

    I love reading during the summer ^_^

  2. Meghan says:

    Ooh love these books!

  3. I love chick lit as well! Although I really am reading so much more YA now. I do love the Shopaholic series. It was fun hanging with you and Cara at Idle Hands during BEA!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

