nancy's book blog

Reading is dreaming with open eyes

Booking Through Thursday

on January 19, 2012

Today’s “BOOKING THROUGH THURSDAY” says:

“I saw this article the other day that asked, “Are you ashamed of skipping parts of books?” Which, naturally, made me want to ask all of YOU.

Do you skip ahead in a book? Do you feel badly about it when you do?”

My answer is No. I NEVER skip ahead in a book, the same way I never stop reading a book once I’ve started. I don’t care how painful it is.  I’m OCD like that.

There have been two occasions were I have wanted to skip ahead. The first was while reading The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold.  It was so sad and I just wanted to see what happened to everyone.

The second was The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.  There were a few chapters that were so medical and technical, I started to glaze over.  Turns out, I learned a lot from those chapters!


How about you? Do you skip ahead?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

One response to “Booking Through Thursday

  1. hazelceej says:

    The Lovely Bones – thanks for that. Now I know what or where to skip. Or see if I could stomach the misery in there. Here’s mine – http://www.stasiadesiderata.com/2012/01/19/skipping-parts-of-books/

Leave a Reply

