nancy's book blog

Reading is dreaming with open eyes

TGIF – Buy or Borrow?

on January 27, 2012

Friday is TGIF @ GReads.

This Friday’s Question:

Buy or Borrow: Where do your books that you read come from? The bookstore? The library? Do you prefer to own a book, or have it on loan?

My Answer:

For me, it’s a little of both.  Especially for my book club picks, I will usually go to the library first.  I love that I can borrow books from the public library to read on my Kindle. I can order the books online, they appear on my Kindle and it is a great time saver.

When I do purchase books, I usually buy them from my monthly local library sale. They do these sales in my town around once a month and I am always shocked by the amount of current, “like new” books they have for sale.  I also stock up at amazon.com or BJ’s Wholesale for new books.
My local Borders closed this Fall, and I am an hour away from the nearest B&N. (That’s what I get for moving from NYC to the country!)

When I am finished reading a book, I have this OCD need to pass it forward.  I bring them to my book club for other members to take, or I donate them to the library to sell.  I rarely re-read a book.  The exception to this is To Kill A Mockingbird or any of the Harry Potter books.

What about you?  Do you buy or borrow?  Comment or link below, and HAPPY FRIDAY!

One response to “TGIF – Buy or Borrow?

  1. I think it’s great you borrow your books from the library! It’s my mission to start doing that more this year, as I know mine is well-stocked and easily accessible from my office 🙂

Leave a Reply

