nancy's book blog

Reading is dreaming with open eyes

Waiting On Wednesday – Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
This week, I am “waiting on”:

FROM AMAZON:

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.
This looks like such a fun read!  It will be available on April 17th.
What releases are you waiting on this Wednesday?  Comment or link below.
1 Comment »

Review: MWF Seeks BFF

FROM AMAZON:

When Rachel Bertsche first moves to Chicago, she’s thrilled to finally share a zip code, let alone an apartment, with her boyfriend. But shortly after getting married, Bertsche realizes that her new life is missing one thing: friends. Sure, she has plenty of BFFs—in New York and San Francisco and Boston and Washington, D.C. Still, in her adopted hometown, there’s no one to call at the last minute for girl talk over brunch or a reality-TV marathon over a bottle of wine. Taking matters into her own hands, Bertsche develops a plan: She’ll go on fifty-two friend-dates, one per week for a year, in hopes of meeting her new Best Friend Forever.In her thought-provoking, uproarious memoir, Bertsche blends the story of her girl-dates (whom she meets everywhere from improv class to friend rental websites) with the latest social research to examine how difficult—and hilariously awkward—it is to make new friends as an adult. In a time when women will happily announce they need a man but are embarrassed to admit they need a BFF, Bertsche uncovers the reality that no matter how great your love life is, you’ve gotta have friends.

 MY THOUGHTS:

Less than two years ago I found myself in a very similar situation as Bertsche.  I moved with my husband, son and brand new baby to a new town where we knew no one.   Add to that the fact that both of my Grandmothers died, I dislocated my knee and couldn’t be near my only sister as she gave birth to her first baby within two months of the move and I was feeling really sad and lonely!

I found this book very relatable because of my experience.  I have since made a few friends just as Bertsche did by putting myself out there.  I trolled the internet for local groups and meet-ups, joined a local parenting website, took my kids to the beach and the parks, hung out in Starbucks and at the gym.  I even signed up for classes at the local library.  It worked!  I was out of my comfort zone, but I can now say I have a nice group of about eight girlfriends to socialize with, plus a pretty cool book club!

Bertsche is an engaging writer. She is funny and candid.  Some of her stories were laugh out loud funny and some were even cringe-worthy.  I love the honest approach she took in writing about her experiences.  She could easily be a friend of mine if I lived in Chicago.  Besides hitting home because of my similar experience, this book is full of tips on how to be a better friend.  I realized that if I want friendships to grow, I need to be the initiator a lot more.  That also goes for keeping up my old friendships, because those are just as important.  There are also great ideas on how to make even more friends.

This book was a light and engaging read.  It was just the right blend of funny, endearing, memoir and sociology.  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who had a move to a new location and was on a search for new friends, as well as anyone looking to be a better friend.  I absolutely loved this book, and we will be discussing it at my new-ish book club at our next meeting.

5 CUPCAKE READ FOR ME!

2 Comments »

Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday hosted this month by Metroreader.

Click over to add your link and check out other bloggers’ mailboxes!

Books that came in my mailbox this week:

FOR REVIEW:

 

Did you get any good reads in your mailbox this week?  Comment or post a link below.

Stay tuned for a new book review tomorrow!

Leave a comment »

Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday hosted this month by Metroreader.

Click over to add your link and check out other bloggers’ mailboxes!

Books that came in my mailbox this week:

FOR REVIEW:

What did you find in your mailboxes this week?  Post a comment or link below!

7 Comments »

Waiting On Wednesday – Between The Lines

 

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
This week, I am “waiting on”:
FROM AMAZON:

“What happens when happily ever after…isn’t?

     Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah.

     And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom.

     Delilah and Oliver work together to attempt to get Oliver out of his book, a challenging task that forces them to examine their perceptions of fate, the world, and their places in it. And as their attraction to each other grows along the way, a romance blossoms that is anything but a fairy tale.”

I am excited for this title because I am a big Jodi Picoult fan. She co-wrote this book with Samantha Van Leer who happens to be her teenage daughter!

This book will be available on June 26th, and amazon.com is currently taking pre-orders.

What titles are you “waiting on”?  Add a comment/link below.

 

Leave a comment »

Mailbox Monday

 

Mailbox Monday hosted this month by Metroreader.

Click over to add your link and check out other bloggers’ mailboxes!

Books that came in my mailbox this week:

FOR REVIEW:

 

 

PURCHASED:

 

What goodies did you find in your mailbox this week?  Add a comment or link below!

4 Comments »

TGIF – Love Stories

Friday is TGIF @ GReads

This Friday’s Question:

Love Stories: What are some of your favorite fictional love stories?
There are just so many great love stories in the world of fiction.
Here are a few of my favorites:

Henry & Clare from The Time Traveler’s Wife.

This was such an amazing love story. Henry and Clare’s love spanned decades from the time Clare was 5 until after Henry’s death.  I just loved their journey.

Jacob & Marlena from Water For Elephants

Jacob & Marlena had such a wonderful love story that also spanned decades.  They fell in love amid adversity while working on a circus and grew to make a wonderful life together.

Emma & Dexter from One Day

The best friendship and later romance of Emma Morley and Dexter Mayhew was so beautiful, and so tragic.  It made me think about what is important in life, and how fragile relationships can be.  Nicholls wrote about their events with so little fanfare, that to me it seemed even more flawed and tragic.

Rachel & Dex from Something Borrowed

Even though the subject matter is infidelity and Rachel completely betrayed her best friend Darcy, I was rooting for Rachel!  I just did not like anything about Darcy.  While I don’t condone cheating in real life there was something deliciously wrong about wanting Rachel & Dex to make it.

Ron Weasley & Hermione Granger from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Not much to say about this couple. You want it to happen, you know it’s going to happen, it HAPPENED and when it did we all cheered!  We all wanted Ron & Hermione together from the Victor Krum days and I’m thrilled they ended up together.

What are you favorite fictional love stories?  Add a comment or link below and TGIF!

Leave a comment »

Booking Through Thursday

 

Today’s “BOOKING THROUGH THURSDAY” says:

If you had to pick only 5 books to read ever again, what would they be and why?’

Really?!?!  Only FIVE??????

This was SUCH a hard question to answer!

 

1) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling: If it was allowed, I would have picked the entire series.  I fell in love with these stories and never looked back.  It’s because of the Harry Potter series, I always tend to look for a series before I read a stand alone book.

 

2) To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee:  I first read this book at 10 years old and I have read it several times since.  I love the story and the characters.  My son loves it now as well, and we will watch the movie together whenever we catch it on AMC.  I fought hard to name my daughter Harper, but my husband wasn’t feeling it.  Maybe next time!

 

3) The Help by Kathryn Stockett:  I just LOVED this book.  I loved the tenacity of Skeeter and no one has a bigger heart than Abilene.  The movie was good as well, which is rare these days. They got it just right.  I can read this one over and over.  I guess I have a little thing for the South. Steel Magnolias is also one of my favorite plays/movies.

 

4) Little Women by Louisa May Alcott:  I first read this book at 7 years old.  I can still recite the whole first page.  It is well written and made me yearn for three sisters because it’s hard to recreate scenes from the book when you only have one sister!  Jo is one of my favorite characters of all time.

 

5) Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte: I discovered Jane Eyre in High School and fell in love.  I’m really not a fan of classics, but this story just haunted me.  It is so rich and wonderful.  I’ve even purchased a copy for my 2 1/2 year old daughter to read with her when she is older.

 

What about you?  If you could read “only five” what would they be?  Add a link/comment below!

8 Comments »

Waiting On Wednesday – Pandemonium

 

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
This week, I am “waiting on”:
FROM GOODREADS:

I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.

I am excited for the release of Pandemonium on February 28th. Amazon.com is taking pre-orders.


What are all of you “waiting on” today? Post a link or comment below, and Happy Hump Day!

4 Comments »

Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday hosted this month by Metroreader.

Click over to add your link and check out other bloggers’ mailboxes!

Books that came in my mailbox this week:

FROM NETGALLEY:

FROM THE LIBRARY:

FROM A FRIEND:

What treasures did you find in your mailbox this week?
Comment or link below!

2 Comments »