nancy's book blog

Reading is dreaming with open eyes

Booking Through Thursday

on February 9, 2012

 

Today’s “BOOKING THROUGH THURSDAY” says:

If you had to pick only 5 books to read ever again, what would they be and why?’

Really?!?!  Only FIVE??????

This was SUCH a hard question to answer!

 

1) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling: If it was allowed, I would have picked the entire series.  I fell in love with these stories and never looked back.  It’s because of the Harry Potter series, I always tend to look for a series before I read a stand alone book.

 

2) To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee:  I first read this book at 10 years old and I have read it several times since.  I love the story and the characters.  My son loves it now as well, and we will watch the movie together whenever we catch it on AMC.  I fought hard to name my daughter Harper, but my husband wasn’t feeling it.  Maybe next time!

 

3) The Help by Kathryn Stockett:  I just LOVED this book.  I loved the tenacity of Skeeter and no one has a bigger heart than Abilene.  The movie was good as well, which is rare these days. They got it just right.  I can read this one over and over.  I guess I have a little thing for the South. Steel Magnolias is also one of my favorite plays/movies.

 

4) Little Women by Louisa May Alcott:  I first read this book at 7 years old.  I can still recite the whole first page.  It is well written and made me yearn for three sisters because it’s hard to recreate scenes from the book when you only have one sister!  Jo is one of my favorite characters of all time.

 

5) Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte: I discovered Jane Eyre in High School and fell in love.  I’m really not a fan of classics, but this story just haunted me.  It is so rich and wonderful.  I’ve even purchased a copy for my 2 1/2 year old daughter to read with her when she is older.

 

What about you?  If you could read “only five” what would they be?  Add a link/comment below!

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Oh, I should have put The Help on mine! And Little Women. But here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  2. Sherrie says:

    Hi!
    Great choices. The Help is one of my five. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Food for Thought

  3. Wonderful Choices!

    Here is my BTT: Only Five post!

  4. missed says:

    I would just bring my Kindle 😉

    Which, of course, would have Hamlet, Dune, the collected works of E.A. Poe, the Complete Calvin & Hobbes, and Jude the Obscure.

    Okay, so my Kindle doesn’t have C&H. So I guess I’ll toss in Cavalier and Clay in there =P

Leave a Reply

