nancy's book blog

Reading is dreaming with open eyes

Review: MWF Seeks BFF

on February 28, 2012

FROM AMAZON:

When Rachel Bertsche first moves to Chicago, she’s thrilled to finally share a zip code, let alone an apartment, with her boyfriend. But shortly after getting married, Bertsche realizes that her new life is missing one thing: friends. Sure, she has plenty of BFFs—in New York and San Francisco and Boston and Washington, D.C. Still, in her adopted hometown, there’s no one to call at the last minute for girl talk over brunch or a reality-TV marathon over a bottle of wine. Taking matters into her own hands, Bertsche develops a plan: She’ll go on fifty-two friend-dates, one per week for a year, in hopes of meeting her new Best Friend Forever.In her thought-provoking, uproarious memoir, Bertsche blends the story of her girl-dates (whom she meets everywhere from improv class to friend rental websites) with the latest social research to examine how difficult—and hilariously awkward—it is to make new friends as an adult. In a time when women will happily announce they need a man but are embarrassed to admit they need a BFF, Bertsche uncovers the reality that no matter how great your love life is, you’ve gotta have friends.

 MY THOUGHTS:

Less than two years ago I found myself in a very similar situation as Bertsche.  I moved with my husband, son and brand new baby to a new town where we knew no one.   Add to that the fact that both of my Grandmothers died, I dislocated my knee and couldn’t be near my only sister as she gave birth to her first baby within two months of the move and I was feeling really sad and lonely!

I found this book very relatable because of my experience.  I have since made a few friends just as Bertsche did by putting myself out there.  I trolled the internet for local groups and meet-ups, joined a local parenting website, took my kids to the beach and the parks, hung out in Starbucks and at the gym.  I even signed up for classes at the local library.  It worked!  I was out of my comfort zone, but I can now say I have a nice group of about eight girlfriends to socialize with, plus a pretty cool book club!

Bertsche is an engaging writer. She is funny and candid.  Some of her stories were laugh out loud funny and some were even cringe-worthy.  I love the honest approach she took in writing about her experiences.  She could easily be a friend of mine if I lived in Chicago.  Besides hitting home because of my similar experience, this book is full of tips on how to be a better friend.  I realized that if I want friendships to grow, I need to be the initiator a lot more.  That also goes for keeping up my old friendships, because those are just as important.  There are also great ideas on how to make even more friends.

This book was a light and engaging read.  It was just the right blend of funny, endearing, memoir and sociology.  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who had a move to a new location and was on a search for new friends, as well as anyone looking to be a better friend.  I absolutely loved this book, and we will be discussing it at my new-ish book club at our next meeting.

5 CUPCAKE READ FOR ME!

2 responses to “Review: MWF Seeks BFF

  1. Meghan says:

    Great review!! One thing I found interesting about this book was the idea how it is easy to find friends after college, but then it is harder. I think college is the easiest, and then I have found once you have kids it seems easier again. You can sign up for activities for the kids and not look like you are looking for friends for yourself, LOL.

  2. Very interesting points you have remarked, thanks for putting up.

Leave a Reply

